Coverart for item
The Resource In West Mills : a novel, De'Shawn Charles Winslow

In West Mills : a novel, De'Shawn Charles Winslow

Label
In West Mills : a novel
Title
In West Mills
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
De'Shawn Charles Winslow
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
For readers of The Twelve Tribes of Hattie and The Turner House , an intimately told story about a woman living by her own rules and the rural community that struggles to understand her. Azalea "Knot" Centre is determined to live life as she pleases. Let the people of West Mills say what they will; the neighbors' gossip won't keep Knot from what she loves best: cheap moonshine, nineteenth-century literature, and the company of men. And yet, Knot is starting to learn that her freedom comes at a high price. Alone in her one-room shack, ostracized from her relatives and cut off from her hometown, Knot turns to her neighbor, Otis Lee Loving, in search of some semblance of family and home. Otis Lee is eager to help. A lifelong fixer, Otis Lee is determined to steer his friends and family away from decisions that will cause them heartache and ridicule. After his failed attempt as a teenager to help his older sister, Otis Lee discovers a possible path to redemption in the chaos Knot brings to his doorstep. But while he's busy trying to fix Knot's life, Otis Lee finds himself powerless to repair the many troubles within his own family, as the long-buried secrets of his troubled past begin to come to light. Set in an African American community in rural North Carolina from 1941 to 1987, In West Mills is a magnificent, big-hearted small-town story about family, friendship, storytelling, and the redemptive power of love
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Winslow, De'Shawn Charles
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3623.I66425
LC item number
I5 2019
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • City and town life
  • Friendship
  • African Americans
  • Families
  • North Carolina
Label
In West Mills : a novel, De'Shawn Charles Winslow
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1042352666
Dimensions
22 cm.
Extent
261 pages
Isbn
9781635575286
Lccn
2018034737
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1042352666
Label
In West Mills : a novel, De'Shawn Charles Winslow
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1042352666
Dimensions
22 cm.
Extent
261 pages
Isbn
9781635575286
Lccn
2018034737
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1042352666

Library Locations

    • Merrimac Public LibraryBorrow it
      86 West Main Street, Merrimac, MA, 01860, US
      42.8273954 -71.0128929
Processing Feedback ...